Indiana University
Bloomington
Philip Asamoah
Major: Neuroscience
Minor: Spanish and Chemistry
Hometown: Fishers, IN
Classification: Alumni

Q&A

Why do you belong at IU?

IU is a large enough university to offer me all of the resources and opportunities that I need to succeed yet I don't feel like just one random insignificant number of 40,000 like I thought I would. Also, I truly enjoy being here because the people are friendly and the campus is gorgeous. I don't think I would experience the same joy and comfort (including lack of homesickness) if I were anywhere else so IU is the place where I should be.

What do you like most about your major or scholarship program?

To put it simply, my major deals with a relatively new field of medicine and science. I chose it because I find it exciting. There are always new discoveries coming out about the nervous system due to its extreme complexities and differences in neural connectivity between individuals. If I want to make a difference in the search for cures and causes to largely incurable disorders, neuroscience is the place to start.

What is an interesting fact about you that most people would find surprising or unexpected?

I actually have two. Most people would find it hard to believe that I play rugby based on my personality. However, a lot of people already know I play rugby. Another fact would be that I was born in Ghana, lived in England for four and a half years, and then lived in Virginia, Rhode Island, and finally Indiana.

Where is your favorite spot on campus?

I love being anywhere in the IMU because it is such an impressive structure in general that has a large layout with plenty to explore, although the racquetball courts at the SRSC come in a very close second.

What is your favorite thing about Bloomington?

My favorite part of Bloomington is how the city and the university are essentially one unit. At a lot of other universities, especially those in bigger cities, the residents and businesses are "less connected" to their respective universities than they are here in Bloomington. The fact that a large number of restaurants recognize CampusAccess shows that students form a significant portion of the consumer market here. I enjoy the proximity of the mall to campus and the great variety of restaurants that the city of Bloomington has to offer as well.

Tell us about your family.

My wonderful parents made me who I am today. They were both born and raised in Ghana. My mom stays at home, and my dad is an endocrinologist. I also have two younger siblings, Amyra and Jude. Amyra was born in England, and she will be a senior in the fall at Fishers High School. Jude was born in Virginia, and he will be an eighth grader in the fall at Hamilton Southeastern Junior High School.

What is the best college experience you have had so far?

Our floor trip to Chicago was by far the best experience I have had in college. Before the trip, I had met some of the people on my floor and greeted them when I saw them, but I didn't truly know them. After the trip, I hung out with them a lot more, felt more comfortable around them, and formed great friendships with them over all. Plus, it was nice to spend a weekend away from Bloomington to enjoy the sights and shops of a beautiful city like Chicago.

What do you want to do after you graduate?

I would like to go on a trip somewhere with my family or some of my close friends the summer after I graduate. In the fall, I would like to be attending some medical school with the hope of eventually becoming a physician. I genuinely have a desire to better the world and help make life comfortable at least physically for as many people as I can. I would love to be a Doctor Without Borders at some point, but I also want to start a private practice here in the U.S.

What music are you currently listening to?

I am not actually listening to any music right now, but the last music I was listening to is by the Rippingtons. I am a big fan of fusion jazz so I would probably listen to them or Carlos Santana right now.

What is your advice to students interested in Indiana University?

Work hard but don't work too hard. Take time to enjoy campus and try out new foods and activities. Take a couple of HPER classes while you are here. Study abroad. The worst thing you can do is regret not having done something during your four years in college. I have come to realize that I might never again have the same opportunities or free time to further my education. High school goes by quickly, but college goes by even faster. I am sure it has already been stated multiple times for a reason, but make the most of your time at Indiana University.